Home > Events > #22 – Panel of Awesomeness

#22 – Panel of Awesomeness

Let me introduce you to a few people that I like to call friends. I’ve never met any of them in real life, but since I’ve been on twitter and hosting this video chat I’ve come to learn and respect them, not only for the work that they do, but also for just being wonderful people.

Derek Bartholomaus (@derekcbart)
… runs the website Jenny McCarthy Body Count and is directly involved in the Independent Investigations Group. He was there when Anita Ikonen and when Regen Traynor
were tested in attempts to win the IIG $50,000 Paranormal Challenge. He regularly joins us on the video chat and usually has a great experience to share.
Desiree Schell (@teh_skeptic)
… spends almost all her time being consumed by her weekly call-in radio show Skeptically Speaking. Her passion for all things nerdy and skeptical is hard to match, and she always has something fascinating to say (no wonder she’s on the radio).
Steve Thoms (@SomeCndnSkeptic)
… writes tirelessly for his blog Oot and Aboot with Some Canadian Skeptic and is “Editor-in Chief”
of Skeptic North. He is also one of the smartest people I know. A conversation with him is always a learning experience and often I end up with homework (usually something I discover that I must read).
K.O. Myers (@GRSkeptics)
… apparently has stepped away when we took his picture. Anyway, K.O. doesn’t only have the most awesome name in the bunch, he also is the powerhouse behind Grassroots Skeptics. A very personable and intelligent guy, apparently he knows everyone. Don’t forget to check out his workshop at TAM8

Too over the top? I don’t think so. I just found myself this week [virtually] sitting between these people and really enjoying their company. I can’t wait to buy them all something tasty to drink when I finally get a chance to meet them in person.

Thanks to everyone for joining the chat this week, you all contributed to the awesomeness.
Sorry again for technical problems and to those who couldn’t make tokbox work.

Attendees:

Brian Gregory (@briandgregory), Crystal Van Wieren (@AtheistRose), Ray Adam Smith Latiolais (@evilray), K.O. Myers (@GRSkeptics), Derek Bartholomaus (@derekcbart), Steve Thoms (@SomeCndnSkeptic), Bart Dorsey (@echobucket), Tom Cookson (@MeanQuestion), Desiree Schell (@teh_skeptic), Gretchen Koch (@gretchenkoch), Andrew Dudum (@andrewdudum), Shamar Hawkins (@EscapeFromDogma), Laura Lalchere (@DatasWife), and one anonymous guest.

Categories: Events
  1. March 6, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    Sorry I couldn’t make it again. Sometimes my work gets in the way. It was fun the one time I joined you guys. Maybe next week.

  2. March 8, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    Your description of me is too kind by half, and your use of a screenshot which I’m not is sparing your readers a fair amount of discomfort. Thanks!

    • March 8, 2010 at 8:20 pm

      All of the above pictures were cut from this week’s chat snapshot. I didn’t realize until the next day that you had stepped away when the shot was taken, and I just thought it would be funny to use it anyway.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

